Laws Concerning Marijuana in Florida
According to the 2020 National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 49.6 million Americans reported using marijuana in the past year. With more states passing medical and recreational marijuana use laws, cannabis consumption is steadily increasing.
Florida passed Session Bill 182 — the Medical Use of Marijuana Act — in 2019. However, it’s important to be aware that recreational use is still illegal in the state, and there are stiff penalties for the use, distribution, and possession of marijuana outside of the strict parameters of the law.
Penalties for Possession
Possession refers to having a drug on one’s person or property, either for personal use, sale, or distribution. According to the 2021 Florida Statutes, individuals convicted of possessing 20 grams or less of cannabis will be charged with a misdemeanor and may be punished with up to a year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of more than 20 grams to 25 pounds is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Florida residents caught with 25 pounds to less than 2,000 pounds of marijuana in their possession will be charged with a felony, and they can be punished with 3-15 years in prison and a fine up to $25,000.
Growing marijuana plants in Florida is also illegal. The possession of less than 25 plants is a felony punishable by five years in prison and a fine of as much as $5,000. Penalties for growing marijuana increase to a maximum fine of $50,000 for growing 2,000-10,000 plants, with possible incarceration of 7- 30 years.
The possession or sale of the paraphernalia used to consume marijuana or make marijuana
products, such as pipes, bongs, or vaporizers, is a misdemeanor, as well, which can be
punished by one year of imprisonment and a fine of $1,000.
Penalties for Sale
The penalties for selling marijuana are more severe than the penalties for possession. Attempting to sell 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor that can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one year in prison. Selling 25 pounds or less is a felony that can earn an individual up to five years of incarceration and a fine of up to $5,000. Attempting to sell between 25 and 2,000 pounds of marijuana is a felony punishable by 3-15 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. Having 10,000 pounds of marijuana or more is a felony that can be punished by up to 30 years in prison and a maximum fine of $200,000.
Hash and Other Concentrated Forms of Cannabis. Hashish, or hash, is a concentrated form of marijuana made from the resin of the plant. In Florida, these potent concentrates are classified as Schedule I narcotics. The possession, manufacture, or sale of hash and similar marijuana concentrates are classified as third-degree felonies with penalties of up to five years in prison and maximum fines of $5,000.
Possessing or Selling Marijuana near a School. The abuse of marijuana, and the approval of marijuana use, has become increasingly widespread among America’s youth. To reduce the health risks of cannabis use among children, teens, and young adults, Florida has established even stricter laws against the sale of marijuana near a daycare center, school, college, or park. The sale or delivery of marijuana in these locations is a felony punishable by up to 15 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Treatment for Marijuana Addiction
With increased deregulation and more states passing medical and recreational marijuana use laws, more people are consuming cannabis every day. Despite the positive public perception around this drug, marijuana use still carries a risk of dependency and addiction.
If you or someone you love are struggling with marijuana abuse there is help. River Oaks Treatment Center offers individualized addiction treatment programs to get you on the road to recovery. Contact us today at to find out more about our Tampa Bay addiction treatment center or learn about the admissions process. When you’re ready to get started, we’re here to help.